3
\$\begingroup\$

The 2nd level spell Hold Person can affect multiple targets when upcast with a higher level slot.

Suppose a wizard uses a 6th level slot and successfully holds 5 humanoid king's guards with the spell.

The Dispel Magic spell simply works automatically if it targets any spell 3rd level and below. The caster needs to make an ability check to ends spells of a higher level with a DC of 10+spell level.

If the king's adviser wished to dispel the spell on one of the guards, would a check be unnecessary because he is attempting to end a 2nd level spell that affects multiple targets or does he need to attempt a DC16 ability check?

\$\endgroup\$

marked as duplicate by Miniman dnd-5e Dec 22 '17 at 11:24

This question has been asked before and already has an answer. If those answers do not fully address your question, please ask a new question.

7
\$\begingroup\$

When a spellcaster casts a spell using a slot that is of a higher level than the spell, the spell assumes the higher level for that casting. (PHB 201)

So it has to be dispelled as a 6th level spell if it was cast using a 6th level slot, regardless of the "basic" level of the spell.

\$\endgroup\$
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ @SevenSidedDie I didn't mention that as the question already did. It might be worth to note that it is not an option either. \$\endgroup\$ – Szega Dec 21 '17 at 22:40
  • \$\begingroup\$ Oh so it does. It's easy to miss but definitely there. Carry on! :) \$\endgroup\$ – SevenSidedDie Dec 22 '17 at 1:00
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ Does the dispel works on all targets at once? \$\endgroup\$ – Vylix Dec 22 '17 at 7:54
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ @Vylix The comment adding that was just deleted as being superfluous, as the querent already seems to understand and include that. The answer is that it only works on one target. I am too lazy to link you an SE thread about it, sorry. \$\endgroup\$ – Szega Dec 22 '17 at 8:01

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.