4
\$\begingroup\$

In a current campaign I am playing a sorcerer/oracle. If I have a page of spell knowledge with a divine spell on it, can I use my arcane slots to cast it?

The page's description says:

If the bearer is a spontaneous spellcaster and has that spell on her class spell list, she may use her spell slots to cast that spell as if it were one of her spells known

\$\endgroup\$
  • \$\begingroup\$ Hi @ymmijx, and welcome to RPG Stack Exchange! Check out our tour to see how we work here, and when you reach 20 rep, you can join us in Role-playing Games Chat. \$\endgroup\$ – doppelgreener Dec 22 '17 at 12:41
3
\$\begingroup\$

A page of spell knowledge essentially adds spells to the bearer's spells known, not to the bearer's spell list

The page of spell knowledge says, "If the bearer is a spontaneous spellcaster and has that spell on her class spell list, she may use her spell slots to cast that spell as if it were one of her spells known."

Thus, if the bearer of the page is a sorcerer and has that spell on her sorcerer spell list, she can use her sorcerer spell slots to cast that spell as if it were one of her sorcerer spells known. Likewise, if the bearer is an oracle and has that spell on her oracle spell list, she can use her oracle spell slots to cast that spell as if it were one of her oracle spells know.

However, if the bearer of the page is a multiclass oracle/sorcerer and has that spell either only on her oracle spell list or only on her sorcerer spell list, she does not have the spell on that other spell list, and she's stuck casting the spell using the spell slots of whatever spellcasting class does have that spell on its spell list.

The page of spell knowledge doesn't change the sorcerer's spellcasting that says, "A sorcerer casts arcane spells drawn primarily from the sorcerer/wizard spell list," nor does the page change the oracle's spellcasting that says, "An oracle casts divine spells drawn from the cleric spell lists." If a spell's not on a class's list, that class's spell slots can't typically be used to cast it, even with the help of a page of spell knowledge.

\$\endgroup\$
0
\$\begingroup\$

Divine and Arcane classes doesn't naturally share their spell-slots

As Hey I Can Chan's answer explains, Sorcerers and Oracles cast their spells from different spell lists and then prevent you to use the spell slots of one class for another.

However a way to solve this issue would be the Mystic Theurge class, which allows to share the spell slots for spontaneous-caster classes, as explained in Paizo FAQ with an oracle/sorcerer/mystic theurge example:

Likewise, an oracle/sorcerer/mystic theurge can use sorcerer spell slots to cast oracle spells, or oracle spell slots to cast sorcerer spells, so long as the level increases and level limits described in the combine spells ability are implemented. Neither class is affected by the "only spells they have prepared" rule because that rule only applies to mystic theurges who have levels in a non-spontaneous casting class.

\$\endgroup\$
  • \$\begingroup\$ Why would it apply here? Character in question is not a Mystic Theurge as far as we know. \$\endgroup\$ – Mołot Dec 22 '17 at 14:00
  • \$\begingroup\$ Mystic Theurge in the example is a complement for a more generic situation, to show that non-spontaneous caster classes doesn't share their spell slots the same way. However this example shows that in the case of a Sorcerer/Oracle only, the spell slot sharing works naturally. \$\endgroup\$ – Rophe Dec 22 '17 at 14:01
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ The prestige class mystic theurge has the specific class feature combined spells that allows its classes to… well… combine spells like this. Most other classes, however, don't have such a class feature. \$\endgroup\$ – Hey I Can Chan Dec 22 '17 at 14:04
  • \$\begingroup\$ No? This is an answer about "Combined Spells (Su)" ability. Why would spontaneous casters be able to combine spells without having Combined Spells ability? (edit: @HeyICanChan was 5 seconds faster than me) \$\endgroup\$ – Mołot Dec 22 '17 at 14:04
  • \$\begingroup\$ Got it, I indeed went too fast on this one. I'll edit my answer accordingly, which gives a way to do the sharing slot, but the main answer remains a "no" \$\endgroup\$ – Rophe Dec 22 '17 at 14:11

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.