2
\$\begingroup\$

Several features, like a Level 15 Battle Master's "Relentless", give one or more bonuses (in this case, a superiority die if you have none left) at the initiative roll of an encounter.

My question is : if a character leaves an (unresolved) encounter, then later comes back into the same (still unresolved) encounter, can he roll a new initiative (thus potentially getting initiative bonuses like the Relentless superiority die) or must he keep the previous one he had ?

This assumes the character would "act out of a turn" (ex: wait for about 20 seconds then jump back in), as he removed himself from the encounter, and thus from the initiative order.

\$\endgroup\$

closed as unclear what you're asking by NautArch, Oblivious Sage, user17995, ZwiQ, Pyrotechnical Dec 28 '17 at 20:49

Please clarify your specific problem or add additional details to highlight exactly what you need. As it's currently written, it’s hard to tell exactly what you're asking. See the How to Ask page for help clarifying this question. If this question can be reworded to fit the rules in the help center, please edit the question.

  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ How are you "leaving" the active unresolved encounter? \$\endgroup\$ – NautArch Dec 28 '17 at 19:54
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ You will have to better define "leaves an encounter". To me, that would require the player to go so far away that their existence can no longer have an effect in the encounter. So just going to the next room isn't enough. They would need to leave the plane of existence, be in a different level of the tower, and so forth. All subject to case-by-case determine of "left" and "later". \$\endgroup\$ – MivaScott Dec 28 '17 at 19:54
  • \$\begingroup\$ @MivaScott even moving to another plane doesn't 'end' the encounter. See: Etherealness. \$\endgroup\$ – NautArch Dec 28 '17 at 19:54
  • \$\begingroup\$ @NautArch which is why I said case-by-case basis. \$\endgroup\$ – MivaScott Dec 28 '17 at 19:56
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ I think there's a real question here related to when an encounter ends and another begins to justify rolling initiative again. This doesn't seem to be your question, though it's intrinsically related to your answer. If you can provide a few examples on your definition of leaving an encounter, it may be possible to answer this question. See next comment: \$\endgroup\$ – Pyrotechnical Dec 28 '17 at 20:54
15
\$\begingroup\$

Encounters are like the Hotel California

You can check out any time you like, but you can never leave.

Just because you are no longer participating in the encounter for whatever reason doesn't mean you have 'left' the encounter. Your place in initiative remains, you're just doing something else away from all the action.

\$\endgroup\$
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ Wish I could +2 \$\endgroup\$ – SeriousBri Dec 29 '17 at 13:44

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.