I thought I understood the rules for resisting consequences in Blades in the Dark, until I got to the GM Bad Habits section.
The resistance rules (page 32) say:
When your PC suffers a consequence that you don’t like, you can choose to resist it. Just tell the GM, “No, I don’t think so. I’m resisting that.” Resistance is always automatically effective—the GM will tell you if the consequence is reduced in severity or if you avoid it entirely. Then, you’ll make a resistance roll to see how much stress your character suffers as a result of their resistance.
Usually, a resistance roll reduces the severity of a consequence. [...]
You may only roll against a given consequence once.
The GM also has the option to rule that your character completely avoids the consequence. For instance, maybe you’re in a sword fight and the consequence is getting disarmed. When you resist, the GM says that you avoid that consequence completely: you keep hold of your weapon.
However, among other GMing practices to avoid, there's Don't Roll Twice For The Same Thing (page 199):
When a PC faces danger, they make an action roll. Also, they can roll resistance to avoid a bad outcome. However, don’t roll twice for the exact same thing.
For example, Arlyn is dueling a Red Sash on the roof. [...] Arlyn is forced over the edge and falls off the roof.
But she can roll to resist, right? Yes. She can resist the harm that results from the fall. But she can’t “undo” being forced over the edge. That’s already been determined by her action roll. Her resistance reduces the impact of the fall. Instead of breaking her leg, she suffers lesser harm (maybe a sprained ankle) or maybe the GM rules that she’s able to avoid the harm entirely by rolling into a rough crash-landing. Either way, she’s still fallen off the roof.
In other words, the action roll determines whether a consequence manifests or not. Resistance changes how much of that danger manifests or how bad it is, but it doesn’t negate the fictional outcome of the action roll.
So which is it? Can the player avoid the fictional part of the consequence, not just its mechanical impact if they resist and the GM agrees to it?
If a consequence is resisted in the forest, is the tree still fallen?