1
\$\begingroup\$

Let's say a character has a spell with a reaction, like Hellish Rebuke. If they use this in response to taking damage can they still use an action that round?

Related, but not the same, is there an order to an action and a bonus action? For example, can a Rogue with Cunning Action use their bonus action to move their mage hand and then take an action or must it be in reverse order?

\$\endgroup\$

closed as too broad by SevenSidedDie Jan 6 '18 at 21:26

Please edit the question to limit it to a specific problem with enough detail to identify an adequate answer. Avoid asking multiple distinct questions at once. See the How to Ask page for help clarifying this question. If this question can be reworded to fit the rules in the help center, please edit the question.

  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ Please post different related questions separately. We have a one-post, one-question policy in order to ensure that answers are focused fully on one question at a time. (I believe your second question has already been asked & answered, even, and posting it separately allows us to direct you to the canonical Q&A.) \$\endgroup\$ – SevenSidedDie Jan 6 '18 at 21:27
2
\$\begingroup\$

No and no

Reactions are completely independent from actions, using one does not interfere with the other. (except for readied actions, which uses both)

Bonus actions can be used any time in your turn, unless the rule that provides it says otherwise.
For example Flurry of Blows can only be used after the action:

Immediately after you take the Attack action on your turn, you can spend 1 ki point to make two unarmed strikes as a bonus action.

\$\endgroup\$

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.