I have a character who sometimes triggers her dare's grit-regaining feature as a side effect of killing an appropriately high-HD hostile creature aware of her position in the heat of combat. It's unclear to me how much grit should be regained in this case; we've been just deciding before each campaign but is one or the other of the options better supported by the rules?
To be clear, the character should either have 1 or 2 points of grit after the kill. Killing a creature in combat gives a point of grit, and in this specific situation killing the creature also satisfies the grit-regaining part of a dare, which gives you grit if you have no grit. The problem is that resolving the grit from the kill first means she might be considered to have grit when the dare resolves, even though she didn't when she made the kill and satisfied the trigger condition. If things are resolved in the other order, with the dare going first, then obviously she ends up with 2 grit.
If things happen simultaneously, there's still the issue that one of the things happening is dependent on the other one not happening. When we do simultaneous stuff it seems like that situation is often tricky. Like if fireball and resist fire go off then you are safe from the fire but if the attack of a summoned fire elemental and antimagic field go off at the same time then you get hit once (using my usual system for simultaneous resolution). Simultaneous stuff in Pathfinder is always tricky, so something delving into that beyond 'it happens simultaneously' would certainly be useful.
The dare in question is:
Run Like Hell (Ex)
While this dare is active, your speed increases by 10 feet, and you retain your Dexterity bonus to your AC while running. You regain 1 grit or panache point the first time you are more than 100 feet away from your closest enemy.
, whose condition is sometimes satisfied by the character killing the last enemy within 100 feet.