Here is the situation that has come up often in our group:
- A creature is immobilized(save ends) at the start of its turn. As no enemies are adjacent, its options are limited.
- The creature readies a charge
- The trigger chosen is "When I am not immobilized"
- Note that Ready requires an action to trigger off of. For a while, we ruled that the trigger had to be something like, "When Bob tells me I'm not Immobilized." Talking is a free action, so that satisfied our inner rules lawyer. It got silly fast, and we went with this shorthand.
- The creature processes its end of turn actions, saving half the time* and immediately charges an opponent.
Both characters and monsters have been doing this awhile. However it doesn't sit well with me, and some others in the group as it does nerf the Immobilized condition. We've agreed to play this way as we think it is how we interpret the rules.
Is this legal? Are we reading the rules correctly? Are we missing a rules clarification somewhere?
My group and I are very much "Rules as Written" players, so we aren't very interested in house rules to change it. Thanks for the suggestions though.
* ok, not exactly half, but that isn't the point here, nitpickers :)