This is similar to Do you remember what happened during Dominate Person? (Pathfinder, not D&D 5e), but the difference is I'm not issuing any order to target.

Will the target remember that they were dominated?

  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ There's also a difference in that the linked question is about a different game, so the answer might not be the same in yours. \$\endgroup\$
    – Erik
    Commented Jan 17, 2018 at 9:57
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ related: rpg.stackexchange.com/questions/76729/… \$\endgroup\$
    – LordHieros
    Commented Jan 17, 2018 at 11:11

1 Answer 1


PHB p 204

Unless a spell has a perceptible effect, a creature might not know it was targeted by a spell at all. An effect like crackling lightning is obvious, but a more subtle effect, such as an attempt to read a creature’s thoughts, typically goes unnoticed, unless a spell says otherwise.

Dominate Person does not “say otherwise” so, irrespective of if you issue commands or not the creature doesn’t necessarily know it is (or was) dominated. Compare this with Friends where the creature knows it was affected after the spell expires - Dominate Person has no equivalent language.

An intelligent creature may be able to guess why it is behaving strangely but it wouldn’t know for sure.


You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .