16
\$\begingroup\$

Glyph of Warding states :

When you cast this spell, you inscribe a glyph that later unleashes a magical effect. You inscribe it either on a surface (such as a table or a section of floor or wall) or within an object that can be closed (such as a book, a scroll, or a treasure chest) to conceal the glyph. The glyph can cover an area no larger than 10 feet in diameter. If the surface or object is moved more than 10 feet from where you cast this spell, the glyph is broken, and the spell ends without being triggered.

Portable Hole states :

You can use an action to unfold a portable hole and place it on or against a solid surface, whereupon the portable hole creates an extradimensional hole 10 feet deep. The cylindrical space within the hole exists on a different plane, so it can't be used to create open passages. Any creature inside an open portable hole can exit the hole by climbing out of it.

(all emphasis mine)

Can I climb into the portable hole cast Glyph of Warding climb out fold it up and travel around with glyph and still have it function when I retrieve it out of the hole? Or jump into the Hole and activate it myself for a buff?

\$\endgroup\$
17
\$\begingroup\$

I would rule that the glyph would still function, as long as you jump into the hole, for the following reasons:

  1. As written, the portable hole creates a space that exists on a different plane. What this means is that the hole is effectively a portal to another plane. In this case all that has moved is the entrance to the plane, and not the plane itself. Given this, the glyph hasn’t moved at all.

  2. This is an inventive use of a spell and a magical item and as such the player should be rewarded.

  3. If following the ruling it turned out that it was too powerful, or that it was in some way breaking the game, it is easy enough to put a stop to as a DM.

    As an example, after a few times of you disappearing into this hole and coming out super buffed, your enemies are going to have heard about your tactics in advance and as soon as you jump in, they will move hell and earth to get to the hole and fold it up with you still inside!

TL;DR

There is no reason that this wouldn’t work. You are placing the glyph on another plane of existence and then moving the entrance to the plane.

Based on a comment from @David Coffron (thank you!), I would add that removing the item that the glyph is cast on is a different matter. In removing the surface on which it the glyph is cast from the hole the glyph would be moved more than 10 feet. The spell specifically says

is moved more than 10 feet from where you cast the spell

I suspect that this is to stop players casting it on an object and then teleporting.

\$\endgroup\$
  • 5
    \$\begingroup\$ You beat me to this answer by seconds. I would add that you would have to jump in the hole specifically since Voromir also included a clause of removing the glyph from the hole which would make it more than 10 feet from the original position. \$\endgroup\$ – David Coffron Jan 19 '18 at 3:30
  • \$\begingroup\$ Thanks @DavidCoffron!! I have added a few lines in to improve the answer! \$\endgroup\$ – Ryan Chaplin Jan 19 '18 at 3:44
  • \$\begingroup\$ The edit was for format reasons. Please review to ensure that it's still what you are giving as an answer. \$\endgroup\$ – KorvinStarmast Jan 19 '18 at 4:32
  • \$\begingroup\$ It's a cylindrical space, couldn't you attach the glyphed object to the side near the hole's entrance and therefore be able to move it another ~9 feet outside of the hole? \$\endgroup\$ – Theik Jan 19 '18 at 7:30
  • 4
    \$\begingroup\$ I’m not sure how you would attach it to the inside of the hole. Having said this, there is also an argument that the other plane of existance is more than 10 feet away from our plane regardless of where the portal is. The spell specifically states that it is inactive if moved more than 10 feet from where you cast it, not if it moves 10 feet. \$\endgroup\$ – Ryan Chaplin Jan 19 '18 at 16:29

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.