8
\$\begingroup\$

One of the players I play with said that it is not allowed by the rules that you drink more than one potion in one round, but he could not find the rule anymore.

Let us say I have the Potion Glutton Feat (swift action) and want to drink a Mutagen (standard action) would I be allowed to drink more than one potion in one round?

\$\endgroup\$
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ My apologies if it was just a typo, but since you were consistent, on the off-chance you are unaware: a portion is an amount of food, a potion is liquefied magic. \$\endgroup\$ – KRyan Jan 19 '18 at 22:05
  • \$\begingroup\$ What does the player say happens when a creature that's technically capable of consuming a second potion tries to consume that second potion? Does the creature, like, spill it? Does the creature succeed yet the second potion has no effect and is wasted? Does the universe explode? \$\endgroup\$ – Hey I Can Chan Jan 20 '18 at 11:55
16
\$\begingroup\$

There is no such rule that I can find, and I tend to think that I would have heard of it if it existed. It certainly isn’t to be found anywhere in the potion rules, which is where such a rule should be found.

And even if the rule existed, a mutagen is not technically a potion in any event, and wouldn’t interfere with that rule. The only way you could possibly be prevented from doing this is if the mutagen class feature said you could not drink a mutagen the same round you drink a potion. The mutagen class feature does not say any such thing, nor has any errata or FAQ for mutagens (that I have seen) said this.

Normally you could not do so just because of action limits, but Potion Glutton is one way around that. Note, however, that Potion Glutton only gets around the action limitation if you have at least one potion in hand—if you have to pull both potions out, you won’t be able to drink the second one (move to draw one, swift to drink it, standard→move to draw the other, out of actions). Unfortunately, the nerfed Pathfinder version of Quick Draw doesn’t help here, either.

\$\endgroup\$
  • \$\begingroup\$ Is it worth mentioning that other folks can pour potions down a helpless creature's gullet and that multiple creature during a lone round could do so? (Obviously, this doesn't change the time it takes to consume a mutagen, but it does lend credence to multiple potions being able to affect the same creature during the same round.) \$\endgroup\$ – Hey I Can Chan Jan 19 '18 at 23:04
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ @HeyICanChan Unless there’s something explicitly saying multiple creatures can do that, I think it just would be another “way around that [action limitation].” \$\endgroup\$ – KRyan Jan 19 '18 at 23:33
  • \$\begingroup\$ I'd certainly allow that, but definitely not during combat. \$\endgroup\$ – Obie 2.0 Jan 20 '18 at 3:13
  • \$\begingroup\$ @Obie2.0 Why not? Puts me in mind of a boxer who goes to the corner, and has people rubbing sweat off him, squeezing water in his mouth, giving him tips. It’s longer than a combat round, but meh, this is fantasy. And the rules certainly allow it. \$\endgroup\$ – KRyan Jan 20 '18 at 3:32
  • \$\begingroup\$ @KRyan from how I read the potion glutton feat, I would say that during combat they could drink one potion without consequence but the potion taken as a normal action would provoke the opportunity attack as normal. So yes they could drink two potions in one round technically but one would have the normal penalty applied to it while the other didn't basically. (Also basing this off having seen "swift action" and "bonus action" used somewhat interchangeably in the PH.) \$\endgroup\$ – Varis Jan 20 '18 at 3:36

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.