15
\$\begingroup\$

If you have the spell sniper feat (doubles range of spells), and you use a weapon with reach, can you cast booming blade and hit a creature at 10ft?

Can you also combine this with the polearm mastery and war caster, and make a booming blade opportunity attack when a creature enters your reach (of 10ft)?

\$\endgroup\$
  • \$\begingroup\$ Quick note: War Caster doesn't let you cast a spell as an opportunity attack, it lets you cast a spell instead of making an opportunity attack (when an enemy provokes an OA). Crawford confirms this here. \$\endgroup\$ – V2Blast Oct 13 '18 at 4:43
22
\$\begingroup\$

Spell sniper will allow you to use booming blade to hit a creature 10 feet away with a reach weapon

Spell Sniper

When you cast a spell that requires you to make an attack roll, the spell’s range is doubled.

Booming blade

As part of the action used to cast this spell, you must make a melee attack with a weapon against one creature within the spell’s range, otherwise the spell fails.

Spell sniper will work because booming blade has an attack roll involved in it as long as you have a weapon capable of making a melee attack

This has been confirmed by Jeremy Crawford in relation to a very similar spell, green-flame blade here:

Q: What if he had the Spell Sniper feat? The spell requires an attack roll, would its range thus be 10ft, allowing the whip?

A: Spell Sniper does work green-flame blade.

Warcaster will allow you to cast booming blade in place of an opportunity attack

When a hostile creature’s movement provokes an opportunity attack from you, you can use your reaction to cast a spell at the creature, rather than making an opportunity attack. The spell must have a casting time of 1 action and must target only that creature.

Booming blade is a spell with an casting time of 1 action, and it targets only one creature. So, there is no reason that you would not be able to cast it with warcaster.

Polearm master will allow you to make opportunity attacks when creatures enter your reach

While you are wielding a glaive, halberd, pike, or quarterstaff, other creatures provoke an opportunity attack from you when they enter your reach.

As long as the reach weapon you are wielding a glaive, halberd, pike, or quarterstaff, then you can take an opportunity attack when a creature enters you reach as well as when they leave it.

Combining the three will allow you to cast booming blade in place of an opportunity attack when an enemy enters or exits your reach of 10 ft

\$\endgroup\$
9
\$\begingroup\$

Yes the range is doubled

Note the range on Booming Blade is 5 feet, so following Spell Sniper it should be doubled to 10 feet.

Jeremy Crawford has tweeted on this topic, about a similar spell Green Flame Blade.

Q: What if he had the Spell Sniper feat? The spell requires an attack roll, would its range thus be 10ft, allowing the whip?
A: Spell Sniper does work green-flame blade.

No you cannot make an opportunity attack with a spell...

Booming Blade requires the Cast a Spell action, and only has an attack as one of the components. Opportunity attacks must be attacks, not spells.

To make the opportunity attack, you use your reaction to make one melee attack against the provoking creature.

... Unless you have the Warcaster feat

From the feat:

When a hostile creature's movement provokes an opportunity attack from you, you can use your reaction to cast a spell at the creature, rather than making an opportunity attack. The spell must have a casting time of 1 action and must target only that creature.

Since Booming Blade is a spell with a cast time of one action, and only targets one creature, you could cast the spell as your Opportunity Attack with the Warcaster feat.

Polearm Master adds additional chances to Opportunity Attack

While you are wielding a glaive, halberd, pike, or quarterstaff, other creatures provoke an opportunity attack from you when they enter your reach.

Combining Warcaster, Polearm Master, and Spell Sniper would allow you to use Booming Blade at 10 foot range as a creature enters your reach.

Note that even though Booming Blade's range is increased to 10 feet, since it requires a melee attack, your weapon must still reach that far to use it at this range.

\$\endgroup\$
  • \$\begingroup\$ What about the pole arm mastery part? \$\endgroup\$ – LightningColin Jan 25 '18 at 0:24
  • \$\begingroup\$ @LightningColin since Polearm Mastery adds new chances to make Opportunity attacks, it would work with Warcaster + Spell Sniper \$\endgroup\$ – Randomorph Jan 25 '18 at 0:25
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ Quick note: War Caster doesn't let you cast a spell as an opportunity attack, it lets you cast a spell instead of making an opportunity attack (when an enemy provokes an OA). Crawford confirms this here. \$\endgroup\$ – V2Blast Oct 13 '18 at 4:43
-4
\$\begingroup\$

"When you cast a spell that requires a ranged attack roll, the spell's range is doubled." Spell sniper doubles the range of ranged attack roll spells. People that think it doubles the range of melee or touch aren't reading the feat correctly.

\$\endgroup\$
  • 3
    \$\begingroup\$ You seem to have misquoted this rule - please check your source. It should say ''When you cast a spell that requires you to make an attack roll, the spell’s range is doubled.'' There's no mention of a ranged attack roll specifically. \$\endgroup\$ – Tiggerous Apr 13 at 12:07
  • 4
    \$\begingroup\$ Welcome to RPG.SE! If you're wondering why you're getting downvotes it's probably because of the misquote and not because we don't appreciate new contributors to old questions. Take the tour if you haven't already, and check out the help center for more guidance. Good Luck and Happy Gaming! \$\endgroup\$ – Someone_Evil Apr 13 at 12:24
  • \$\begingroup\$ Agreed with previous commenters about the incorrect quote (especially since you explicitly call out the other people as being wrong). Note that you can always edit your answer to be more correct or, if you feel it has no value you can delete it. \$\endgroup\$ – Rubiksmoose Apr 14 at 0:12

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.