This question already has an answer here:

Do touch spells like shocking grasp or ranged spells like freezing ray get extra damage from rolling a natural 20 on their attack roll?


marked as duplicate by SevenSidedDie dnd-5e Jan 28 '18 at 23:41

This question has been asked before and already has an answer. If those answers do not fully address your question, please ask a new question.

  • \$\begingroup\$ Missed that one in my search. \$\endgroup\$ – Lorance Jan 28 '18 at 23:45
  • \$\begingroup\$ Don't feel bad - I couldn't find it either! Hopefully with this new pointer to it it'll be a bit easier to find. \$\endgroup\$ – Miniman Jan 29 '18 at 0:35


The rule on criticals simply refers to “attack roll”.


Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.