5
\$\begingroup\$

As a spell caster, when I am keeping a concentration effect up, does it require any of the casting components required to have cast it, such as verbal or somatic?

\$\endgroup\$
9
\$\begingroup\$

Casting a spell is a different type of action to maintaining a spell, so no, there are none of the same requirements for components.

According to the magic rules for Concentration duration.

Concentration The spell lasts as long as you concentrate on it. Concentrating to maintain a spell is a standard action that does not provoke attacks of opportunity. Anything that could break your concentration when casting a spell can also break your concentration while you’re maintaining one, causing the spell to end. See concentration.

You can’t cast a spell while concentrating on another one. Some spells last for a short time after you cease concentrating.

\$\endgroup\$
4
  • \$\begingroup\$ Mostly I was thinking about the sound or action. Its clear that someone if focusing on a spell or cant hide if they are doing those things. \$\endgroup\$ – Fering Jan 29 '18 at 2:24
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ @Fering That would make invisibility useless... \$\endgroup\$ – Adeptus Jan 29 '18 at 5:31
  • \$\begingroup\$ @Adeptus Invisibility is not a concentration spell, its a duration \$\endgroup\$ – Fering Jan 29 '18 at 13:04
  • \$\begingroup\$ Very few spells actually use Concentration as a duration - mostly illusions. \$\endgroup\$ – YogoZuno Jan 29 '18 at 20:43

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.