As a spell caster, when I am keeping a concentration effect up, does it require any of the casting components required to have cast it, such as verbal or somatic?
Casting a spell is a different type of action to maintaining a spell, so no, there are none of the same requirements for components.
According to the magic rules for Concentration duration.
Concentration The spell lasts as long as you concentrate on it. Concentrating to maintain a spell is a standard action that does not provoke attacks of opportunity. Anything that could break your concentration when casting a spell can also break your concentration while you’re maintaining one, causing the spell to end. See concentration.
You can’t cast a spell while concentrating on another one. Some spells last for a short time after you cease concentrating.