0
\$\begingroup\$

In 5e whats the ruling about arcane casters wearing armour? Does it impact their spellcasting like in earlier editions? I was looking through the book and didn't see anything but I just wanted to be sure, that if I get proficiency it won't be for nothing.

\$\endgroup\$
  • \$\begingroup\$ Hi Zac. RPG Meta is not for game questions, it's for questions about this site itself, how we work, and the software this site runs on. I've moved this to our main site. What do you mean by "the ruling"? Are you asking whether arcane users can wear armor and how it affects their spellcasting, like it did in previous editions with arcane spell failure? \$\endgroup\$ – doppelgreener Jan 29 '18 at 11:06
  • \$\begingroup\$ Yes, and Sorry I didn't reliaze I had posted it in the wrong section. \$\endgroup\$ – Zackingofkings Jan 29 '18 at 11:17
  • \$\begingroup\$ That's ok. Look out for the difference in design - colored versus grey scale & sketchy, as well as the "meta" in the title. It's not an uncommon mistake for new members. \$\endgroup\$ – doppelgreener Jan 29 '18 at 11:20
10
\$\begingroup\$

If you wear armor that you lack proficiency with, [..] you can't cast spells. (PHB 144)

Thus, if you have proficiency with the armor you are wearing, it does not impede your spellcasting (be it arcane or divine).

|improve this answer|||||
\$\endgroup\$
  • \$\begingroup\$ Alright, thank you. I thought that was the case but I wanted second set of eyes because it's so late here. \$\endgroup\$ – Zackingofkings Jan 29 '18 at 11:14

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.