4
\$\begingroup\$

Flaming sphere says:

When you move the sphere, you can [...] jump it across pits up to 10 feet wide.

How does a flaming sphere's jump ability work when faced with a 15’ pit, will it fall in or stop at the edge and move no further?

Could you use this same jumping ability to move it over water or some other less than solid or weak surface (10' across or less)?

\$\endgroup\$
  • \$\begingroup\$ This is multiple questions, but question posts must be one question. For example, one of those questions has already been asked and answered on the site. Could you pick one question, and edit to focus this post on that one question? Your other questions can be posted in their own question posts. \$\endgroup\$ – SevenSidedDie Jan 31 '18 at 17:26
  • \$\begingroup\$ I don't mind editing it but the question has already been answered and answered well. \$\endgroup\$ – Steve Bauer Jan 31 '18 at 19:54
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ Each of your sub-questions could be/should be a separate question. But without any of them, there’s no real question to answer here. “How does flaming sphere movement work?” is extremely vague and unclear. \$\endgroup\$ – KRyan Jan 31 '18 at 21:23
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ @Rubiksmoose Change is fine with me. Main things that came up in a recent game was the DM allowed it to move up a tree and I had always imagined it rolled along the ground and the players all agreed it should stop adjacent to a ramming target and I had always placed it in the same square as the target. Other questions just flowed from that. \$\endgroup\$ – Steve Bauer Jan 31 '18 at 22:21
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ @SteveBauer: Understood! Don't get the wrong idea. They were all good questions. You should definitely open up a new question or two when you have the time with the remaining questions. You may even get more/better answers than mine which is good! And if a better answer comes along you can and should switch your selected answer. \$\endgroup\$ – Rubiksmoose Jan 31 '18 at 22:25
9
\$\begingroup\$

Almost all the answers to these question have no true RAW interpretation and, as such, are solidly in the realm of DM adjudication.

The sphere will stop at the edge of a 15' pit (probably)

When you move the sphere, you can...jump it across pits up to 10 feet wide.

It is not clear why the ball will make it across a 10' casm without falling, but we know it cannot make it across a 15' one. As such, the flaming sphere probably would not even jump a gap larger than 10' if you tried since the magic just doesn't have that ability.

However, a if a DM were to rule that the sphere did not stop at the edge of the 15' pit (which does not seem that unreasonable), we know it would then fall as Jeremy Crawford has said:

Q: Is Flaming Sphere bound to the ground, given 3rd paragraph of the spell description?

A: Flaming sphere has no means of flight, yet the spell doesn't stop you from creating the sphere in the air. If you do, it falls.

Can you move it over water or some other less than solid or weak surface? - Not one greater than 10'

Refer to the quote above. I would rule that a 10' pit of water or fragile ice is similar enough that the ball of fire can jump over it. Anything greater than that would not work (and the sphere would fall or whatever surface appropriate effect).

\$\endgroup\$
  • \$\begingroup\$ You didn’t answer if the sphere occupies the same space as it’s target or stops next to the target when you ram with it. \$\endgroup\$ – Steve Bauer Jan 31 '18 at 3:38
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ @SteveBauer: I'll answer that in a minute! sorry I missed it up top. \$\endgroup\$ – Rubiksmoose Jan 31 '18 at 3:41
  • \$\begingroup\$ I think the ruling that it falls if you try to jump a 15’ pit, especially with Jeremy’s ruling that if cast up in the air it falls is a good rule but just sticking to the rules as written the spell has no provision to cross a 15’ gap or fall into a pit so if order to do so just does nothing would also be a reasonable rule. \$\endgroup\$ – Steve Bauer Jan 31 '18 at 3:42
  • \$\begingroup\$ @SteveBauer: I've updated the answer. I'll sleep on it and probably make some improvements tomorrow, but that is all I've got for tonight. \$\endgroup\$ – Rubiksmoose Jan 31 '18 at 4:18

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.