0
\$\begingroup\$

The Mageknight has these abilities, relevant to the question:

Relentless Pursuit (Requires Marked class feature)

You may spend a spell point as a swift action to make a single manufactured or natural weapon attack against an enemy you have marked. This attack is made at your highest base attack bonus, and receives a circumstance bonus to damage equal to your mageknight level.

and

Time Shift [Core]

When using any ability gained through the mystic combat class feature, you may spend an extra spell point to decrease that ability’s required action by one step: standard actions become move actions, swift actions become free actions, etc. This cannot reduce an immediate action.

Finally, eliminate the cost of either one of them using the capstone:

Spellsword

At 20th level the mageknight may effortlessly combine magic and combat. Choose one mystic combat abilities that costs a spell point to use. You may use this ability without spending a spell point.

Now for 1 spell point the mageknight can make an attack at highest BAB as a free action.

Can this be used ad nauseum to make as many extra attacks in a single turn as the mageknight has spell points?

\$\endgroup\$
  • \$\begingroup\$ Maybe you can self-answer: Does the text have a rule like When an effect reduces an action's required action by 1 or more steps, if that action is reduced to a free action, that action can be taken any number of times or something? \$\endgroup\$ – Hey I Can Chan Feb 3 '18 at 16:39
1
\$\begingroup\$

It is entirely up to your GM

The definition of a free action is fairly clear in the rules on page 181 of the Core Rulebook. "... However, there are reasonable limits on what you can really do for free, as decided by the GM."

The Paizo RPG Core Rulebook FAQ has the question "How many free actions can I take in a round?" The answer reproduces the rules on pages 181 and 188 of the Core Rulebook and concludes "In other words, the GM can allow more or fewer free actions as appropriate to the circumstances."

So I suggest you talk to your GM about it. I would hope that your GM would allow at least two Relentless Pursuit attacks, otherwise there is no advantage to augmenting the ability with Time Shift, but given the +20 circumstance bonus on damage on each attack (for a 20th level Mageknight) I would not expect them to allow 20+ bonus attacks at highest BAB.

\$\endgroup\$
  • \$\begingroup\$ My concern is that despite the action needed to use it being changed, relentless pursuit may still be limited to once per round. In other words, just because an ability now takes a free action to use doesn't necessarily mean the underlying ability can be used any number (or even [spell points] number) of times. \$\endgroup\$ – Hey I Can Chan Feb 3 '18 at 17:17
  • \$\begingroup\$ It's hard to say since its 3rd party material and each production company has their own way of writing. SoP is usually pretty succinct, but it may have been intended as a once per turn thing or else that combo was missed and is unintentionally powerful. For instance, look at Mageknight's Invisibility which (since its not the spell) in only broken by "until you target a foe with an attack or magic". \$\endgroup\$ – Ifusaso Feb 3 '18 at 18:58
  • \$\begingroup\$ @Ifusaso I dunno… the invisibility is still 1 round/level or that. My bigger concern would be that until you target a foe with an attack or magic isn't a thing (because it implies a declare step that Pathfinder lacks) and instead should be after you make an attack or cast a spell that has as its target one or more foes. I don't, however, find this interaction particularly powerful—mageknight spell points are low (like, usually below 30) and this is a level 20 character—so she should be doing the crazy, yet I don't know if this is the crazy she should be doing. \$\endgroup\$ – Hey I Can Chan Feb 3 '18 at 19:16
  • \$\begingroup\$ I think it needs GM oversight is all \$\endgroup\$ – Ifusaso Feb 3 '18 at 19:17

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.