3
\$\begingroup\$

Would a darkness cast at 4th level be dispelled by daylight?

The text suggests that the spell must be of higher than 3rd level, but I am unsure.

If any of this spell's area overlaps with an area of darkness created by a spell of 3rd level or lower, the spell that created the darkness is dispelled.

\$\endgroup\$
3
\$\begingroup\$

No

Daylight only dispels darkness of 3rd level or lower. It has no effect on darkness at a higher level than that.

Jeremy Crawford has agreed on a similar case (though with reversed logic):

See the final paragraph of the darkness spell for what it does to a light spell of 2nd level or lower. If a source of magical light is not a spell of 2nd level or lower, darkness can be illuminated by that light.

The spells will only dispel each other at or below the level specified in the spells' description.

\$\endgroup\$
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ This doesn't answer the question; it flipped it. The question asks whether Sunlight dispels darkness in which case the answer is yes, a 4th level darkness cannot be dispelled by Sunlight, \$\endgroup\$ – David Coffron Feb 4 '18 at 4:43
  • \$\begingroup\$ darkness prevails over light spells of the same level? \$\endgroup\$ – Toofle Feb 6 '18 at 14:45

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.