9
\$\begingroup\$

According to the books, if you place a bag of holding within a portable hole or any other type of extra dimensional storing device, it creates a hole that opens up to the astral plane.

My question is what happens if you place a bag of devouring inside a bag of holding or any other extra dimensional storage device?

\$\endgroup\$
12
\$\begingroup\$

A Bag of Devouring is "a feeding orifice for a gigantic extradimensional creature", so what's inside it is still an extradimensional space, and should interact with a Bag of Holding the same as any other such device.

Which is to say, in the words of Kurt Vonnegut, '...a ripping sound like the opening of the zipper on the fly of God Almighty.'

\$\endgroup\$
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ Does the sudden astral gate & loss of a 'mouth' damage the extradimensional creature? \$\endgroup\$ – RozzA Sep 17 '18 at 5:03
  • \$\begingroup\$ @RozzA That would be up to your DM to determine, since no such thing is mentioned in the text. \$\endgroup\$ – Darth Pseudonym Sep 17 '18 at 14:17
  • \$\begingroup\$ The bag of devouring is a creature ('s organ), not an item. \$\endgroup\$ – Mindwin Aug 12 at 13:10
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ Well, it's in the DMG under "Magic Items A-Z", and listed as a wondrous item in the specific description, so I guess you can have an argument with the dev team about that, if you really want to. \$\endgroup\$ – Darth Pseudonym Aug 12 at 14:27
-1
\$\begingroup\$

According to the item descriptions nothing would happen if you placed a bag of devouring into a bag of holding, but if the bag of holding were placed inside the bag of devouring it would then create a hole to the astral plane.

Not all items are created equally, they all don't share the same weaknesses is basically what I'm trying to say.

The rules are very careful to let you know if an item has a specific interactions with other items/situations, which is why the bag of holding, portable hole, and handy haversack all have a rule added to them specifically:

Placing a bag of holding inside an extradimensional space created by a handy haversack, portable hole, or similar item instantly destroys both items and opens a gate to the Astral Plane. The gate originates where the one item was placed inside the other. Any creature within 10 feet of the gate is sucked through it to a random location on the Astral Plane. The gate then closes. The gate is one-way only and can't be reopened.

Other items and spells work like deep pockets, a ritual introduced in "Heroic Tier Rituals" (Dragon #405):

For the duration of the ritual, five pockets or pouches sewn into the garment may each hold 50 pounds of weight or 5 cubic feet of volume (totaling 250 pounds). Items in the pockets do not change the garment's form or weight. Items may be retrieved from these pockets as a minor action. When the ritual ends, items remaining in the pockets appear in a pile at the garment-wearer's feet.

These are missing the additional rule. This makes it logical to assume that if clothing under the effect of a spell like deep pockets was placed in a bag of holding, nothing would happen, but like the bag of devouring, placing the bag of holding into the pockets of the clothes would cause the astral hole.

\$\endgroup\$
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ -1 : The bag of devouring says : "The bag can hold up to 30 cubic feet of matter. It acts as a bag of holding type I," and therefor you ARE putting a bag of holding into a bag of holding regardless of which one goes into the other. \$\endgroup\$ – Voromir Kadien Feb 11 '18 at 2:03

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.