I will soon start a game of Necessary Evil, and one of my players will have the Elemental Attack (fire) superpower, and I am not completely sure if I understand the rules correctly.

Anytime something flammable is hit by fire, roll 1d6. On a 6, the target catches fire

After a hit I roll a d12 (rules from the superpower, normally it would be d6) and check if the result is 6 or more to see it the enemy catches fire. If yes the enemy gets one stack of "burning".

According to the Necessary Evil rules, I have to improve the flammability rating by one step instead of rolling a d12:

Each round after a victim catches fire (at the beginning of his action), roll as if checking to see if the victim catches fire again. If he does, the fire grows in intensity and does its current level +2 in damage that round. This is cumulative to +6.

Savage Worlds Explorers Edition, page 104

So I now have a burning drone with a toughness of 8 (2) that has one stack of burning. I now check with a d6 if he gets another stack, which he does not. Afterwards I calculate the burning damage for this round to be 3 points of damage, which is ignored as the toughness of the drone is higher.

For the fire to be effective it has to be stacked 4 times to deal the maximum damage of 6 and then automatically kills the drone (first round shaken, then a wound in the second one).

On the next page it says that I get 1d10 points of damage for a "spot fire", such as a burning arm or leg. Does that mean that a burning foe gets 1d10 + levels of burning + 2 points of damage each round?


1 Answer 1


The rules for fire damage have been updated and simplified a little. The ones you're using are from the Explorer's Edition (2007), the newest are from the Deluxe Edition (2011). I would suggest you use the newest version. The key difference is that they've got rid of the 'cumulative+2 bit'. The basics are...

  • Fire damage always happens at the beginning of the round
  • At the beginning of the round immediately after you catch fire, you take 1d10 damage, as the fire is only a spot fire
  • At the beginning of each round that you stay on fire you also roll d6. On a 6, the fire spreads, increasing in intensity
  • The three levels of intensity are 1d10 for a spot fire, 2d10, then 3d10

For example:

  • Round 1: You are struck by a flaming weapon. As well as taking the weapon's normal damage you roll d6 and get a 6. This means you are now on fire, with intensity 1d10
  • Round 2: At the start of the round you take 1d10 damage. You then roll d6 to see if the fire spreads. You roll a 6, so it does, increasing in intensity. During your round you fail to put out the fire
  • Round 3: You take 2d10 damage, then roll d6. You roll 4, so it doesn't increases in intensity. You fail to put out the fire
  • Round 4: You take another 2d10 damage. This time you roll a d6, so it increases in intensity again to its highest possible level
  • Additional rounds: You take 3d10 damage at the start of each round until you put the fire out or die, as it is now at its highest intensity

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .