4
\$\begingroup\$

Sifting through the threads I can't make heads or tails of it. From my understanding the shield spell can somehow trigger from a spell that uses an attack roll (the spell being considered an "attack" in this circumstance) yet for things like extra attack, spells are not considered an "attack." Personally I would argue that shield spell can't trigger from a spell attack but instead only from a melee or ranged weapon attack and the obvious magic missile as well.

\$\endgroup\$
24
\$\begingroup\$

The actions Attack and Cast a Spell are separate action options. You either use one or the other. Extra Attack requires you to use the Attack action:

Beginning at 5th leveI, you can attack twice, instead of once, whenever you take the Attack action on your turn. (PHB 72)

Thus you cannot cast two spells with Extra Attack. However, both are capable of launching an attack (note the lowercase 'a'), which is anything that requires an attack roll. The shield spell can be used against any kind of attack, not just ones launched with the Attack action, as it states no such requirement.

\$\endgroup\$
  • 10
    \$\begingroup\$ Related: lowercase-a-attack vs. uppercase-A-Attack \$\endgroup\$ – nitsua60 Feb 10 '18 at 18:22
  • \$\begingroup\$ Thank you! I was thinking there should be an errata to clarify like "or spell attack" or even a small section in the phb that distinguishes Attack from attack but it makes sense to me. Thank you very much! \$\endgroup\$ – Nerdyandartsy Feb 11 '18 at 4:19

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.