0
\$\begingroup\$

The scenario is using darkness on a stone or playing card. The caster wants to move the spell center without moving himself, so throws the object.

Dropping an item up to 5 feet away is a free action. When targeting further distances, what kind of action is it, and what is the max range?

\$\endgroup\$
3
\$\begingroup\$

Personally, even if it's not exactly the same, I would resolve this as if it were a splash weapon thrown at a grid intersection - in summary, it's a standard action, and the character makes a ranged attack against AC5. If they hit, it goes where they wanted. If the attack roll misses, it scatters a square away for each range increment away. I would use the range increment of an improvised weapon, so 10'.

A character could also potentially move to where they want the object, and then drop it as a free action.

| improve this answer | |
\$\endgroup\$

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.