First of all, I'm not asking this question to solve an issue. My GM and I both agree on the fact this should not be possible to avoid any game breaking mechanics.

However, we couldn't find any rules on this matter on the wiki we're using (we're not native English speakers), I asked Google only to find out people saying "I think you can't" without any source, or leave the subject and speak about learning spells and not using already learnt ones.

My mage is currently level 3 with 24 intelligence, as far as I know he cannot learn 3rd level spells. Nonetheless, he has access to two bonus 3rd level slots. What's stopping him to learn 2nd level and fuse with any +1 metamagic feat (such as Intensified Spell)? Same with 1st level spells and +2 megamagic feat.

Please, use official rules based evidence. Thank you and have a good day.


You only get bonus spells if you're of a high enough level to cast the spells normally:

The ability that governs bonus spells depends on what type of spellcaster your character is: Intelligence for wizards; Wisdom for clerics, druids, and rangers; and Charisma for bards, paladins, and sorcerers. In addition to having a high ability score, a spellcaster must be of a high enough class level to be able to cast spells of a given spell level.

Thus, once you hit class level 5th, your 24 Intelligence will grant you bonus spells, but it will not do so during class levels 1st through 4th.

Paizo also has a FAQ entry about this, in case there's any doubt regarding how this works.

  • \$\begingroup\$ Thank you for your quick answer. So an 2nd spell with a +1 megamagic feat counts as a 3nd level spells according to rules? \$\endgroup\$ – Guillaume C. Feb 16 '18 at 19:29
  • \$\begingroup\$ And, in case there's any doubt as to the intent of the bolded text, Pathfinder's publishers have an entry in their FAQ dedicated to this: paizo.com/paizo/faq/v5748nruor1fm#v5748eaic9o91 \$\endgroup\$ – mech Feb 16 '18 at 19:30
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ A 2nd-level spell with a +1 metamagic must be prepared in or cast out of a 3rd-level spell slot, which you currently do not have. \$\endgroup\$ – Forrestfire Feb 16 '18 at 19:37
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ @GuillaumeC. It uses a 3rd-level slot or spell per day. It does not count as being able to cast spells of that level for the purpose of gaining bonus spells from a high ability score, qualifying for prestige classes, or any other purpose. \$\endgroup\$ – Oblivious Sage Feb 16 '18 at 19:38
  • \$\begingroup\$ @mech good find. Added it to the answer. \$\endgroup\$ – Forrestfire Feb 16 '18 at 19:38

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.