7
\$\begingroup\$

I have a paladin in my campaign that through "Oath of the Ancients" has the Speak with Animals spell, but that's a ritual spell and Paladins don't have ritual spell casting as a class feature. Can he still cast the spell or does he have to get something first?

\$\endgroup\$
26
\$\begingroup\$

The ritual tag identifies spells that can be cast as rituals, not spells that must be cast as rituals. Your Paladin can cast Speak With Animals as a regular Paladin spell using the normal rules.

From the SRD:

Certain spells have a special tag: ritual. Such a spell can be cast following the normal rules for spellcasting, or the spell can be cast as a ritual.

| improve this answer | |
\$\endgroup\$

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.