If I have been swallowed by a Froghemoth and it is hit by fireball, do I take damage?

The question is very similar to Is a Mummy still inside its sarcophagus affected by a fireball hitting right over it?, but the answer given really isn't that clear and there are several creatures that swallow like the Froghemoth does. It would be good to have a ruling for how much cover being swallowed gives you.


This isn't directly from the Froghemoth, but I think the wording on most Swallow abilities is more or less the same, so I'm using the Giant Frog as an example:


The frog makes one bite attack against a Small or smaller target it is grappling. If the attack hits, the target is swallowed, and the grapple ends. The swallowed target is blinded and restrained, it has total cover against attacks and other effects outside the frog, and it takes 5 (2d4) acid damage at the start of each of the frog's turns. The frog can have only one target swallowed at a time.

The emphasis is mine. The swallowed creature should have total cover against anything going on outside the frog, including being immune to Fireball.

  • \$\begingroup\$ Why would total cover protect you from fireball. The description of total cover specially says A target with total cover can't be targeted directly by an attack or a spell, although some spells can reach such a target by including it in an area of effect.. I read that to say specifically total cover does not protect you from AOE effects if you are in the area of effect. \$\endgroup\$ Feb 19 '18 at 7:48
  • 7
    \$\begingroup\$ @SteveBauer this might have to be a separate question, but Total Cover protects you from area spells -> A spell’s effect expands in straight lines from the point of origin. If no unblocked straight line extends from the point of origin to a location within the area of effect, that location isn’t included in the spell’s area. To block one of these imaginary lines, an obstruction must provide total cover. \$\endgroup\$
    – Erik
    Feb 19 '18 at 7:52
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ How fireball works around corners is answered here: rpg.stackexchange.com/questions/93050/… \$\endgroup\$ Feb 19 '18 at 8:01
  • 4
    \$\begingroup\$ If the frog had its mouth open, perhaps the around the corner rule applies...lol. \$\endgroup\$ Feb 19 '18 at 18:32
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ @MarsJarsGuitars-n-Chars - While you lol'ed at the end, you're correct. That's exactly how fireball works. If the frogs mouth is closed, the target can not be reached by the fireball. If the mouth is open, the flames can reach the target and it is affected. This is due to fireball's ability to fill it's AoE by flowing around corners, and it's duration of instant means the flow is at the speed of it being cast. \$\endgroup\$ Feb 20 '18 at 6:15

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.