14
\$\begingroup\$

I am aware that you can only multiclass into a class that you have the required stats for (ex : dex 13 + wis 13 to multiclass into monk).

I am also aware that your initial class can be one that you wouldn't have the required stats to multiclass into in the first place (ex: start as a wizard with an INT of 12). You can continue to get levels in that initial class as long as you don't multiclass, but after that, you can't get additional levels in that starting class (unless you then meet the requirements).

However, someone recently told me that if you don't have the requirements for your initial class, you cannot multiclass at all (or in other words, you cannot multiclass out of your starting class if you don't meet its requirements). Is that true ?

\$\endgroup\$
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ I'm away from books at the moment and can't remember if this is covered: would a magic item that indefinitely raises the relevant ability score (e.g. headband of intellect for the aforementioned wizard) be a solution to this? \$\endgroup\$ – tardigrade Feb 21 '18 at 8:36
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ @tardigrade That's something I've often wondered myself. I just looked it up and found this: rpg.stackexchange.com/questions/53637/… \$\endgroup\$ – NathanS Feb 21 '18 at 8:46
  • \$\begingroup\$ Excellent - that's that sorted then! If you add this as an answer you'll be getting +1 from me. \$\endgroup\$ – tardigrade Feb 21 '18 at 11:25
  • \$\begingroup\$ @tardigrade Well, it's not really an answer to this question since it's not about magic items specifically, also I'd essentially just be stealing credit from PurpleMonkey. Still, now we both know the answer, anyway... \$\endgroup\$ – NathanS Feb 21 '18 at 12:37
  • \$\begingroup\$ @NathanS well, it's up to you - I'd argue "yes, as long as you have a stat-boosting magic item" would definitely be an answer to this, but given that it's a "no" maybe you're right. \$\endgroup\$ – tardigrade Feb 21 '18 at 13:13
36
\$\begingroup\$

The multi-classing rules say on PHB page 163, under “Prerequisites”:

To qualify for a new class, you must meet the ability score prerequisites for both your current class and your new one, as shown in the Multiclassing Prerequisites table.

Emphasis mine. You do in fact have to meet the prerequisites for BOTH classes if you want to multiclass, whoever told you that is correct.

It's important to note that stat boosts from items that aren't permanent, such as Ogre Gauntlets, do not count as meeting the stat requirements. (Thanks to tardigrade for pointing that out.)

\$\endgroup\$

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.