13
\$\begingroup\$

Sentinel
When a creature within 5 feet of you makes an attack against a target other than you (and that target doesn’t have this feat), you can use your reaction to make a melee weapon attack against the attacking creature.

Does it count as an opportunity attack for the purpose of reducing their speed to 0?

When you hit a creature with an opportunity attack, the creature’s speed becomes 0 for the rest of the turn.

\$\endgroup\$
27
\$\begingroup\$

No, it's not an opportunity attack.

An opportunity attack is a specifically named game mechanic with specific rules set out for it (as found on page 195 of the PHB).

If the Sentinel feat was meant to be an opportunity attack it would say something like:

[...] you can make an opportunity attack against the attacking creature.

As it's written it's not counted as an opportunity attack because it doesn't say it is. What it does say is that:

you can use your reaction to make a melee weapon attack against the attacking creature.

\$\endgroup\$
  • 9
    \$\begingroup\$ If you look at examples of things that do grant opportunity attacks, like Polearm Master ("...other creatures provoke an opportunity attack from you when they enter your reach") and Cavalier's Hold the Line ability ("Creatures provoke an opportunity attack from you when they move 5 feet or more while within your reach"), the contrast in wording is especially clear. \$\endgroup\$ – Dacromir Feb 22 '18 at 11:12
  • \$\begingroup\$ You may wish to point out that since it uses the player's reaction, it precludes using an opportunity attack since the reaction was already used ... or, if an opportunity attack was already taken, this reaction would not be available. \$\endgroup\$ – KorvinStarmast Feb 22 '18 at 20:01

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.