10
\$\begingroup\$

A Paladin 8 is able to use 2nd level spells, allowing him to apply metamagic feats as for example Extend Spell or Enlarge Spell (which raise the spell slot used to one level higher, so the Paladin can improve his 1st level spells using his 2nd level slot).

However, after attaining the ability to conjure spells in 4th level, he only got one feat (on the 6th level).

Many metamagic feats don't have a prerequisite, including Extend Spell or Enlarge Spell. Also, the general rules for metamagic feats did not explicitly forbid a non-spellcaster to get a metamagic feat.

If that character wanted to use more than one metamagic feat, or if he also wanted to create magic items (feats which explicitly require a caster level, so he would need to spend his 6th level feat on this), do the rules allow him to get the metamagic feat before receiving a caster level?

I also found this answer saying that a Cleric can get a metamagic feat at 1st level even if it raises the spell to a level beyond the Cleric capabilities - however this divine spellcaster is already a conjurer at level 1.

So, my question is: Can a character without caster levels learn a metamagic feat?

P.s.: I know the example would hardly generate a good, optimized build, but I'm interested in know if this is possible (for NPC generation, for example). Also the metamagic feats in question are just examples.

\$\endgroup\$
16
\$\begingroup\$

Yes, since most metamagic feats don't have any prerequisites, any character can take them.

\$\endgroup\$
  • \$\begingroup\$ Well, by RAW in the d20 SRD it seems the correct answer. As usual, I'll wait a bit before mark an answer as accepted \$\endgroup\$ – Brian Hellekin Feb 22 '18 at 22:39
  • 4
    \$\begingroup\$ It’s probably worth clarifying that many metamagic feats don’t have prerequisites. There are some that do, which may or may not be things you can do without a caster level. \$\endgroup\$ – KRyan Feb 22 '18 at 23:42
  • \$\begingroup\$ @KRyan Updated. \$\endgroup\$ – okeefe Feb 23 '18 at 1:38

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.