12
\$\begingroup\$

In the Monster Manual (p. 308) it states:

The yuan-ti can use its action to polymorph into a Large snake...

Can the snake be as large as I want or is there a set size? The description wasn't specific.

\$\endgroup\$
35
\$\begingroup\$

In this context "Large" means of the Large size category (Player's Handbook p.191), meaning it occupies a 10' by 10' space. The exact phrase is the following:

The yuan-ti can use its action to polymorph into a Large snake, or back into its true form.

Note that the capital-L Large refers to a size category, not a general indication of bigness.

\$\endgroup\$
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ You may want to alter "occupy" to "control". The size categories aren't really about actual size, but more about the area that is controlled by a creature (but they do give some guidance in sizing because of that.) \$\endgroup\$ – NautArch Feb 26 '18 at 15:05
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ The rules also use "takes up" as well as "controls". "Occupies" probably works well enough for general usage. \$\endgroup\$ – keithcurtis Feb 27 '18 at 1:20

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.