3
\$\begingroup\$

So my WIZ 14 casts Scorching Ray at 5th level to Overchannel it. Because I'm not rolling for damage does my Scorching Ray still get the benefit of Empowered Evocation?

\$\endgroup\$
5
\$\begingroup\$

Yes.

There's nothing about either of those that prevents the other, as long as you're casting an Evocation spell of 5th level or lower that does damage.

If it's a spell that does damage, but not an Evocation spell, then only the Overchannel will apply.

Also note that Overchannel does not require you to cast Scorching Ray at 5th level; it Overchannels any Wizard spell of 5th level or lower that does damage.

\$\endgroup\$
  • \$\begingroup\$ yes but it only works 1/long rest for free I'd rather get the most out of it \$\endgroup\$ – Voromir Kadien Feb 28 '18 at 18:02
  • \$\begingroup\$ Ok, that's fine. It just sounded like, from your question, that you thought you had to. \$\endgroup\$ – Phil Boncer Feb 28 '18 at 19:12

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.