3
\$\begingroup\$

I was wondering: when casting multiple spells per turn, does the leveled spell need to be cast first?

The PHB reads:

Bonus Action

A spell cast with a bonus action is especially swift. You must use a bonus action on your turn to cast the spell, provided that you haven’t already taken a bonus action this turn. You can’t cast another spell during the same turn, except for a cantrip with a casting time of 1 action.

The way it sounds is that, if you cast a spell with a casting time of 1 Bonus Action, you can't cast another spell this turn, unless it is a cantrip with a casting time of 1 Action.

But why couldn't I simply cast my cantrip first, and then a spell with casting time of 1 Bonus Action?

\$\endgroup\$

marked as duplicate by David Coffron, Rubiksmoose, user17995, Szega, Philipp Feb 28 '18 at 10:21

This question has been asked before and already has an answer. If those answers do not fully address your question, please ask a new question.

  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ It's "turn", not "tern". A tern is a kind of bird. \$\endgroup\$ – user2357112 Feb 28 '18 at 7:54
15
\$\begingroup\$

The order of casting does not change the rules. You could cast a bonus action spell (like Misty Step) after casting another spell, or before: but you can't cast another spell during the same turn you cast a bonus action spell, unless it is a cantrip with a casting time of 1 action.

This means that you could cast a 1 action cantrip and then a bonus action Misty step, or a bonus action Misty Step and a 1 action cantrip. But if you've cast a 1 action fireball, you couldn't then cast the bonus action Misty Step. And if you've cast Misty Step, you couldn't then cast Fireball.

\$\endgroup\$

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.