4
\$\begingroup\$

If I use shapechange and turn into an intellect devourer and then use Body Thief to possess a humanoid, will I be forced out when the spell ends or remain in control of the humanoid?

\$\endgroup\$
9
\$\begingroup\$

There's no specific rule to cover it. Once Shapechange ends, the target ceases to be an Intellect Devourer and loses the Body Thief ability. A character can't take advantage of an ability it no longer has, so it's only reasonable to assume it ends.

How that affects for the occupied body, well... I'll leave that visual to each reader's imagination. The body is dead, though, because Body Thief says:

The body then dies, unless its brain is restored within 1 round.

\$\endgroup\$
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ Blows the mind... \$\endgroup\$ – Slagmoth Mar 2 '18 at 21:16
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ @Slagmoth Nah, the mind generally has to be gone via Devour Intellect before Body Thief will work. The skull on the other hand... ;) \$\endgroup\$ – T.J.L. Mar 2 '18 at 21:17
  • 3
    \$\begingroup\$ I imagine the body's friends will be quite surprised when that happens... \$\endgroup\$ – GreySage Mar 3 '18 at 0:18
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ A character can't take advantage of an ability it no longer has, so it's only reasonable to assume it ends. I don't follow that logic. If my wizard uses the last spell slot on a concentration spell he doesn't immediately lose concentration just because he doesn't have the ability to do it again. The ability should stay active until it runs out or is otherwise disabled. \$\endgroup\$ – nwp Mar 3 '18 at 23:08
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ @Nwp It's not the same thing. Your caster still has the "spellcasting" ability. You're using a very broad definition of "ability". \$\endgroup\$ – T.J.L. Mar 3 '18 at 23:13

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.