8
\$\begingroup\$

A sorcerer's metamagic option Empowered Spell states (emphasis mine):

EMPOWERED SPELL
When you roll damage for a spell, you can spend 1 sorcery point to reroll a number of the damage dice up to your Charisma modifier (minimum of one). You must use the new rolls.
You can use Empowered Spell even if you have already used a different Metamagic option during the casting of the spell.

Do I have to announce that I want to use this metamagic before I roll damage, or after I've seen my rolls? The latter would be preferable, obviously, but the phrasing isn't 100% clear (at least I don't think it is, but then again I'm not a native English speaker).

Note that this is not a duplicate of this question, which is about before/after the casting, while I'm asking about before/after rolling. Comments to its answer relate to this question, but don't solve it.

\$\endgroup\$
20
\$\begingroup\$

You choose to do this after you have rolled the damage. Note that it says "you can spend 1 sorcery point to reroll a number of the damage dice ..." To be able to reroll dice, you must have already rolled them.

\$\endgroup\$
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ This. Logic of language dictates it, and Jeremy Crawford has basically said plain meaning of and logic of language should be followed when something isn't completely clear. \$\endgroup\$ – Seth R. Feldman Mar 3 '18 at 21:03

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.