Stack Exchange Network
Stack Exchange network consists of 181 Q&A communities including
Stack Overflow, the largest, most trusted online community for developers to learn, share their knowledge, and build their careers.
Visit Stack Exchange
Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. It only takes a minute to sign up.
Sign up to join this community
Anybody can ask a question
The best answers are voted up and rise to the top
5 years, 3 months ago
Suppose that a mimic has grappled character A, and character B is standing ten feet away (within reach) shooting it with a bow. Can the mimic make opportunity attacks on character B? Can the mimic make normal attacks against character B?
Initially I thought this was a duplicate of the linked question about mimic adhesive, but
that question is Pathfinder and this is 3.5e.
Oblivious Sage ♦
54.8k 22 22 gold badges 175 175 silver badges 236 236 bronze badges
Mar 3, 2018 at 22:40
Dan B Dan B
84.6k 14 14 gold badges 187 187 silver badges 320 320 bronze badges
cannot make opportunity attacks against the archer because a grappling creature does not threaten any squares. From the SRD, under the "grappling" condition:
A grappling character can undertake only a limited number of actions. He does not threaten any squares, and loses his Dexterity bonus to AC (if any) against opponents he isn’t grappling.
The Rules Compendium clarifies that you can perform
only certain maneuvers when grappling. You can attack someone who you are grappling, but cannot attack someone that you are not grappling.
Mar 4, 2018 at 0:03
Quadratic Wizard Quadratic Wizard
76.8k 12 12 gold badges 252 252 silver badges 342 342 bronze badges
log in to answer this question.
Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged
By clicking “Accept all cookies”, you agree Stack Exchange can store cookies on your device and disclose information in accordance with our
Accept all cookies
Necessary cookies only