8
\$\begingroup\$

Wish [...] After enduring that stress, each time you cast a spell until you finish a long rest, you take 1d10 necrotic damage per level of that spell.

If this damage kills you, will the spell that caused the necrotic damage still happen or are you reduced to 0 HP before the spell effect occurs, thereby stopping it?

\$\endgroup\$
14
\$\begingroup\$

The spell will be cast

Wish says:

each time you cast a spell

it does not say "each time you attempt to cast" or anything similar. When a spell is cast, it is complete and its effects will take place.1

...but maybe not for long

If the caster dies from this damage, the effect on the spell will depend on which spell was cast.

Obviously any spell with a concentration requirement will cease to work. Anything that interacts with the spellcaster dying/dropping to 0hp/taking damage may take place depending on the wording.

However, a spell with a duration of instantaneous will take effect immediately (before the damage/death).


1 Unless some specific rule like the ready action supersedes this.

\$\endgroup\$
  • 5
    \$\begingroup\$ I suggest wishing for a Clone ;-) \$\endgroup\$ – goodguy5 Mar 5 '18 at 18:26

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.