1
\$\begingroup\$

If I cast haste and give bardic inspiration to my Druid ally, will he be able to use these abilities if he then transforms using his wildshape?

\$\endgroup\$
  • 3
    \$\begingroup\$ Do you have any reason to suspect he won't be able to use those spells/features? \$\endgroup\$ – GreySage Mar 8 '18 at 23:23
  • \$\begingroup\$ Bardic inspiration doesn't give a druid any special ability. Lorewise, it inspires the character. Mechanically, it lets the player add to its dice roll. \$\endgroup\$ – enkryptor Mar 9 '18 at 11:11
10
\$\begingroup\$

The druid retains any abilities that their animal form can use.

Wild Shape states:

You retain the benefit of any features from your class, race, or other source and can use them if the new form is physically capable of doing so. (PHB, 67)

Emphasis mine.

There's nothing that would prevent the druid from using Haste or Bardic Inspiration that has been given to them by someone else while in animal form, so they are able to maintain those effects and make use of them.

\$\endgroup\$
  • 8
    \$\begingroup\$ This is why a wildshaped druid can use rage if he/she is multiclassed barbarian, but a polymorphed barbarian can not. Wild Shape allows you to retain your features, polymorph replaces them. \$\endgroup\$ – Lino Frank Ciaralli Mar 8 '18 at 23:25

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.