14
\$\begingroup\$

If you make a turning or greater turning check that would destroy a vampire is it destroyed? Description of vampire seems to say only way they are destroyed is sunlight or running water.

\$\endgroup\$

2 Answers 2

18
+50
\$\begingroup\$

This DM would rule that a vampire can be destroyed by a turn undead attempt that would see the vampire destroyed

This DM considers the Monster Manual entry on Slaying a Vampire (253) to be the general ways a vampire can be destroyed; other specific ways a vampire can be destroyed need not be covered by Slaying a Vampire because those other methods can already destroy a vampire!

That is, if on Slaying a Vampire is read as an exhaustive list—as those being the only ways that a vampire can be destoyed—, a vampire that should've been obliterated by the 6th-level Sor/Wiz spell undeath to death [necro] (Player's Handbook 297) would instead be unaffected, a vampire that should've been destroyed by a magic weapon that possesses the magic weapon special ability disruption (Dungeon Master's Guide 224) (+2 bonus; 0 lbs.) keeps right on sucking, and a vampire that should've been destroyed by a turn undead attempt sufficient to destroy any other undead creature of equivalent power continues to terrorize the frightened villagers scattered across the bleak, soggy moors.

Really, were that list totally exhaustive, even the 8th-level Sor/Wiz spell sunburst [evoc] (PH 289) that specifically says that "the [sunburst spell's] burst results in the destruction of any undead creature specifically harmed by bright light (such as a vampire) if it fail its save" would still not actually destroy a vampire. Read exhaustively, the vampire, after failing its save, would point to that Slaying a Vampire entry and say, "So what? My List of Dooms doesn't include sunburst."

In short, this DM is of the opinion that the many ways that a vampire can be slain include the ways in the Slaying a Vampire entry and also include the ways that a vampire can be dealt with due to, for example, a vampire possessing the type undead.

\$\endgroup\$
14
\$\begingroup\$

The rules text says:

If reduced to 0 hit points in combat, it automatically assumes gaseous form and attempts to escape.

Any additional damage dealt to a vampire forced into gaseous form has no effect.

"Destroying" a vampire is not the same as reducing it to 0 hit points. Rules As Written, destroying a vampire using a turning check will actually destroy it.

Note that a vampire has +4 turn resistance. Under most circumstances a vampire will have at least 5 HD, so it would take an 18HD turn check (or a 9HD greater turning check) to destroy even a low-level vampire in this way.

\$\endgroup\$
0

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .