Inspired by this question.
If I begin to hold my breath above water as a druid and then wild shape into an octopus, am I still holding my breath and how much longer can I hold my breath above water? Here are a number of solutions I came up with:
- Your breath is no longer held and you will begin suffocating if you don't breathe (which must be underwater as an octopus)
This means that the new creature must essentially breathe for the first time.
- Your breath is no longer held, but you begin with a single full breath.
This means that you could begin to hold your breath and will get 30 minutes due to the octopus' Hold Breath trait.
Hold Breath: While out of water, the octopus can hold its breath for 30 minutes.
- Your breath continues to be held carrying over to the octopus reducing the number of minutes from 30 of the breath you already held.
So if you held your breath for 2 minutes and then wild shaped you would get 28 more minutes.
- Your breath continues to be held carrying over to the octopus reducing the proportion of breath used from 30.
This is the least likely in my opinion as the rules make no mention of this mechanic but would mean if I hold my breath for 2 minutes and have a Constitution of 16, half of my time would be used leaving me with 15 minutes as an octopus.
A creature can hold its breath for a number of minutes equal to 1 + its Constitution modifier (minimum of 30 seconds).