-4
\$\begingroup\$

Coming Sunday a party member and myself will be facing off against a wizard/warlock and some cultists.

The session last week ended on the Paladin initiating combat by jumping towards the warlock by surprise. (something I would've preferred to avoid before diplomacy had occurred but alas)

Now I was wondering, if I were to use the surprise to move towards the warlock without triggering Opportunity Attacks from the cultists, and I were to place myself in such a way that the Warlock was in between myself and the Paladin.

Upon using Thunderwave and the Warlock failing his saving throw (thus being knocked back), would our Paladin get an Opportunity Attack from the Warlock being knocked into his range? Or is this something that is entirely up to the DM?

I am an Evoker wizard so with Sculpt Spell I can protect the Paladin from my evocation spells.

\$\endgroup\$

marked as duplicate by Jason_c_o, Jamie Brace, Rubiksmoose dnd-5e Mar 20 '18 at 11:05

This question has been asked before and already has an answer. If those answers do not fully address your question, please ask a new question.

  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ Does the paladin have the Polearm Master feat? Getting closer to someone does not generally provoke an AoO. \$\endgroup\$ – Szega Mar 20 '18 at 8:57
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ @Bwash that is the proper term in 5e. I see nothing wrong with that. It is always better to use the right terms. \$\endgroup\$ – Rubiksmoose Mar 20 '18 at 10:55
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ Also, there are no surprise rounds in 5e. Only surprised creatures that can't act in the first round of combat. \$\endgroup\$ – Rubiksmoose Mar 20 '18 at 11:50
  • 6
    \$\begingroup\$ @Bwash: I'm not trying to pick on you, but using correct terminology is important, not only for getting a good answer to your question, but also for ensuring that it is not confusing for people regardless of their D&D expertise. There is nothing wrong with having your post edited for reasons like this. \$\endgroup\$ – Rubiksmoose Mar 20 '18 at 17:02
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ The Help center article “Why can people edit my posts? How does editing work?” is a handy reference that's relevant to the comment thread, which may answer some questions about the site. \$\endgroup\$ – SevenSidedDie Mar 21 '18 at 2:31
6
\$\begingroup\$

PHB p.195:

You also don’t provoke an opportunity attack when you teleport or when someone or something moves you without using your movement, action, or reaction

Your enemy is being forced to move by you and he is not using his own movement, action or reaction, therefore he won't trigger an Opportunity Attack.

\$\endgroup\$
  • \$\begingroup\$ This makes me sad because it would've been a good tactic but rules are rules, thanks \$\endgroup\$ – Bwash Mar 20 '18 at 10:01
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ Also the enemy is being knocked into the allies' reach not out of. So, that would not provide provoke an OA regardless. \$\endgroup\$ – Rubiksmoose Mar 20 '18 at 11:59
  • \$\begingroup\$ @Bwash don't write it completely off. You can still ready an action so that when Bob the Barbarian knocks him toward you, you shove him off the cliff. \$\endgroup\$ – Slagmoth Mar 20 '18 at 12:31

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.