4
\$\begingroup\$

I understand the Rogue Surprise Attack PLUS a Critical Hit results in extra dice and double dice as these are different effects, but what about a Critical Hit on a Critical Hit?

Paralysis renders:

  • Attack rolls against the creature have advantage.
  • Any Attack that hits the creature is a Critical Hit if the attacker is within 5 feet of the creature.

Since a Critical Hit "Condition" is already in effect, does a Critical Hit on the d20 roll re-double these dice?

Example: A Paralyzed gnoll is attacked by a longsword. Character rolls a 6 and a 20, a Critical Hit. Damage = (d8+d8)+bonuses, or (d8+d8)+(d8+d8)+bonuses?

\$\endgroup\$
  • \$\begingroup\$ Thief Surprise Attack? Do you mean Rogue Sneak Attack? \$\endgroup\$ – FenrirG Mar 25 '18 at 10:31
21
\$\begingroup\$

No

A hit is either critical or not; there are no rules providing for "degrees" of criticality. The normal condition for critical hits is rolling a 20 on the d20 without modifiers on one's attack roll - a "natural twenty".

The paralysis effect simply extends that condition. Now any attack (with a lowercase-a) that hits is resolved as a critical hit, natural 20 or otherwise, so dice are rolled twice for damage.

\$\endgroup\$

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.