Can I increase an ability score over 30 with an item such as a Manual of Bodily Health?

[After reading] this book... your Constitution score increases by 2, as does your maximum for that score.


Ability scores cannot go over 30

RAW and Rules as Intended agree.


The PHB defines a general rule which says that the ability score maximum is 30.

A score of 18 is the highest that a person usually reaches. Adventurers can have scores as high as 20, and monsters and divine beings can have scores as high as 30. (PHB p. 173)

It then goes on to list a table, about which it says:

The Ability Scores and Modifiers table notes the ability modifiers for the range of possible ability scores, from 1 to 30.

This means that the PHB explicitly defines 30 not just as a maximum (as 20 is also described), but as the highest possible Ability Score. Nothing can go above it, not even a Tome/Manual.

Rules as Intended

Jeremy Crawford agrees in this Tweet:

Q: [A Tome/Manual] wouldn't allow a creature to ignore the max cap of 30, however, would it?

A: No.

and this one:

Q: Can a Tome of Clear thought be used multiple times to bring a Stat above 30?

A: Ability scores can go from 1 to 30. See "Ability Scores and Modifiers" (PH, 173).

Both of which inform a later Tweet which says the same thing.

So it is clear that Crawford is saying that 30 is intended to be a hard cap for ability scores, which agrees with the RAW above.

This is despite the fact that the "normal" cap at 20 is by-passable. It seems that the limit of 30 is intended to be a hard limit whereas the limit at 20 is not.

This is speculation on my part, but it is likely that the reason there is a hard ability score cap is because of the 5e design philosophy of bounded accuracy.


Ability scores, even when you raise the maximum, can never go above 30.

Crawford on twitter:

Ability scores go no higher than 30. For regular folk, they go no higher than 20.

And then later in another response:

Q: It wouldn't allow a creature to ignore the max cap of 30, however, would it?

A: No.

Checking the table of ability score modifiers in chapter 1 of the PHB, we see that only numbers between 1 and 30 are listed - and notably: even though 28-29 is listed for a modifier of +9, only 30 is listed for +10.

This isn't solid evidence on its own, but it backs up the interpretation of Crawford's tweet above.

  • \$\begingroup\$ Comments are not for extended discussion; this conversation has been moved to chat. \$\endgroup\$ – mxyzplk Mar 31 '18 at 4:07

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.