1
\$\begingroup\$

Anstruth Harp is a magic item that allows you to cast a 5th level version of cure wounds

You can use your action to play the instrument and cast one of its spells

Cure Wounds states (emphasis mine):

When you cast this spell using a spell slot of 2nd level or higher, the healing increases by 1d8 for each slot level above 1st.

Since you are not casting with a higher level spell slot, does the status of the spell as 5th level serve no benefit to the healing?

\$\endgroup\$
5
\$\begingroup\$

Cure Wounds would heal 5d8+spell mod

Casting a Spell at a Higher Level

When a spellcaster casts a spell using a slot that is of a higher level than the spell, the spell assumes the higher level for that casting. For instance, if Umara casts magic missile using one of her 2nd-level slots, that magic missile is 2nd level.
(PHB 201)

Using the Magic Item bypasses the need to use a spell slot and enables you to cast it at a higher level. The next paragraph of the rulebook even states that some spells have more powerful effects when cast at a higher-level.

\$\endgroup\$
1
\$\begingroup\$

Just as it says: Cure Wounds cast as a 5th level spell; it will cure 5d8 (+ the player's stat bonus) in hp.

\$\endgroup\$

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.