1
\$\begingroup\$

I was investigating thrower builds, and came upon two Ricochet abilities:

  • A Skiprock (Races of the Wild, p. 165), when it hits its target, can ricochet to another target of the thrower's choice, adjacent to the original target, with a penalty of -2 on the second attack roll.
  • The Boomerang Ricochet feat (Races of Eberron, p. 108) allows one to ricochet a Talenta or Xen'drik boomerang; same effects, with the addition that the second target is not vulnerable to Sneak Attack damage.

If one were to use the Aptitude weapon enhancement (Tome of Battle, p. 148) on the Skiprock, one could apply the benefits of the Boomerang Ricochet feat to the Skiprock...

... and then what?

Would the abilities overlap, allow a 3rd target, or allow 4 targets?

\$\endgroup\$
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ …Obviously using the most liberal reading of the magic weapon special ability aptitude, of course. (Also see this question.) \$\endgroup\$ – Hey I Can Chan Apr 7 '18 at 19:29
1
\$\begingroup\$

4 attacks

The skiprock causes two entirely separate attacks.

makes a second attack roll for the skiprock against the new target, with an attack bonus 2 lower than that of the initial attack.

Each "initial attack" is eligible for boomerang ricochet thanks to the Aptitude property.

If your initial attack hits, you immediately make a second attack roll at a -2 penalty against any target adjacent to the original target. 

Keep in mind that the third attack (from the skiprock's property) must be within 5 feet of the very first attack, not within 5 feet of the second attack (from the boomerang ricochet). Each boomerang ricochet is contingent on the prior attack hitting. The third and fourth attack require first that the initial skiprock attack hits (as the third attack will never take place otherwise)

If the skiprock hits the target, it ricochets to another target

Essentially this is the chain of attacks:

  1. First skiprock attack
  2. Boomerang ricochet (if 1 hits)
  3. Second skiprock attack (if 1 hits)
  4. Boomerang ricochet (if 3 hits)
\$\endgroup\$
  • \$\begingroup\$ A skiprock is not a dagger..? \$\endgroup\$ – KRyan Apr 7 '18 at 22:37
  • \$\begingroup\$ @KRyan I must be misremembering. I'll fix \$\endgroup\$ – David Coffron Apr 7 '18 at 22:38

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.