13
\$\begingroup\$

I've run a quick search though the site and I didn't seem to find this topic covered, so I'm asking:

In Dresden Files RPG when an opponent compels one of your consequences against you (spending a FATE point, not using a free tag) do you get the spent point for yourself?

\$\endgroup\$
15
\$\begingroup\$

To answer the question, let's connect the dots in the rulebook.

On YS203 the following quote is found:

Stress is a transitory thing, but sometimes conflicts will have lasting effects on a character— serious injuries, embarrassments, phobias, and the like. These effects are collectively called consequences, and they are a special kind of aspect.

The emphasis on aspect is mine- put in to show that a consequence is an aspect. This is not the only place that a consequence is referred to as an aspect, either, so it is intentional, i.e. on YS204 the following quote is found:

Also keep in mind that, because a consequence is an aspect, it can be tagged, invoked, and compelled like any other aspect. Opponents with fate points will take advantage of this, because invoking a consequence to help win a fight is very easy to justify. Further, the attacker that inflicted the consequence gets one tag on it (which he may give to an ally), just like aspects placed by a maneuver.

With that in mind, we go back to the standard rules for compelling an aspect, i.e. on YS98:

Compel: Either receive a fate point when one of your character’s aspects works to his disadvantage, or spend a fate point to avoid that disadvantage.

One other thing to note with Consequences as Aspects: All the rules for aspects apply, so if appropriate, you can invoke one of your own consequences for a positive effect, something which people sometimes miss.

| improve this answer | |
\$\endgroup\$
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ Thanks! +1 for mentioning that you can invoke your own consequences. \$\endgroup\$ – Flenyar Jan 19 '12 at 11:17
  • 4
    \$\begingroup\$ I just want to reiterate something touched on compels don't always need to be negative either, I have compelled players to keep another from doing something monumentally stupid when the aspects were there to do so \$\endgroup\$ – Tetra Jan 21 '12 at 0:13
2
\$\begingroup\$

In short, the answer to your question is both yes and no.

YS100 states,

"When you are the target of a compel, ... you have a choice: spend a fate point and ignore the aspect, or accept the complications and limitations on your character’s choices and receive a fate point.

When you accept the fate point, the aspect is officially compelled."

However, YS106 talks about tagging:

"Tags, even if they are to a character’s detriment, do not award a fate point like a normal invocation would."

| improve this answer | |
\$\endgroup\$
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ Careful, you are comparing tags to compels, which are different ways to use aspects. Tags are the free version of invokes, not compels. Even if you just placed an aspect on an opponent with a maneuver, you have to pay a fate point to compel it. \$\endgroup\$ – edgerunner Feb 19 '12 at 23:09
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ @edgerunner sorry but you wrong. As stated here (games.groups.yahoo.com/group/FateRPG/message/19519) by Fred Hicks and here by someoneelse (evilhat.wikidot.com/fate-v3:aspects) free tag can initiate invoke for effect which can then initiate compel versus aspect owner. So basically this mean free compel on newly placed aspect via free tag. \$\endgroup\$ – aardvark Apr 17 '12 at 13:05
  • \$\begingroup\$ In the case mentioned, it would be the GM doing the compelling, not you, and you cannot receive the fate point if the compelled player rejects the compel. So I'm still right that you cannot compel for free. You can only cause a compel for free, not make one. \$\endgroup\$ – edgerunner Apr 17 '12 at 21:49
  • \$\begingroup\$ @edgerunner In raw Dresden Files version of fate compels is always between GM and compelled side. So as player you never will receive fate point from rejected compel you initiated. It is in Diaspora compel can originated from players also. But even in Diaspora rejected compell do not give fatepoints. So yes, you right and you also wrong. \$\endgroup\$ – aardvark May 17 '12 at 8:28
1
\$\begingroup\$

One important thing to note you get fate points even if someone free tag your aspect/consequence.
In Fate Points Economy Flow free tag is still invoke/compel vs owner of aspect/consequence but FP cost is credited by GM instead.

| improve this answer | |
\$\endgroup\$
  • \$\begingroup\$ Are you sure about this? Can you provide a reference? \$\endgroup\$ – Flenyar Apr 12 '12 at 16:27
  • \$\begingroup\$ @Flenyar Fred Hicks post on Yahoo groups - (games.groups.yahoo.com/group/FateRPG/message/19519) also there was post on jimbutcheronline.com about this exact situation with exact this Hicks answer, but i cant find it right now \$\endgroup\$ – aardvark Apr 16 '12 at 15:36
  • \$\begingroup\$ and this evilhat.wikidot.com/fate-v3:aspects Tagging Another Character's Aspect 'For Effect' - This is basically paying the GM to force a specific compel on the target. \$\endgroup\$ – aardvark Apr 16 '12 at 15:46

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.