7
\$\begingroup\$

Does casting web interrupt the spell sanctuary on the caster? If yes, in which moment? Let us consider the case in which there is an enemy creature in the area covered by the web.

Maybe it can be useful underline a couple of things:

  1. When web is cast, no creatures are affected.
  2. A creature will be affected by the web if it is starting/going through its turn there and fails the saving throw.
  3. About sanctuary: if the warded creature makes an attack or casts a spell that affects an enemy creature, this spell ends.
\$\endgroup\$
13
\$\begingroup\$

It depends.

The condition for Sanctuary to break is:

If the warded creature makes an attack or casts a spell that affects an enemy creature, this spell ends.

Scenario 1: Casting Web to an unoccupied area

Sanctuary would not end as there are no creatures affected at the time of casting. Creatures affected by the spell's on-going effects after it was cast, would not break Sanctuary since that is not the condition to break Sanctuary.

Scenario 2: Casting Web to an occupied area

Sanctuary would break regardless of whether the creatures passed or failed their saving throw. Forcing a saving throw affects said creature, thus breaking Sanctuary.

\$\endgroup\$
  • \$\begingroup\$ we know that the forced save is not done at the time of casting, so, following your reasoning, also in scenario 2 Sanctuary is not broken \$\endgroup\$ – orcorco Apr 14 '18 at 17:39
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ It's just "a spell that affects an enemy creature", not "a spell that affects an enemy creature in the moment of casting". \$\endgroup\$ – enkryptor Apr 15 '18 at 9:03
1
\$\begingroup\$

As soon as Web forces a Save, Sanctuary ends.

The rules say

If the warded creature [...] casts a spell that affects an enemy creature, [...] this spell ends.

Nothing specifies that the spell must affect creatures the moment it is cast. So, you cast Web on an area with an enemy Orc in there. The Orc wasn't affect yet (it's not its turn), so Sanctuary is up. Then a few turns go by where your allies or other enemies move and act, Sanctuary is up. Then it's the Orc's turn, at the beginning of which, he must make a save against the Web spell, and Sanctuary ends at that point.

The idea of Sanctuary (it's even been errata'd to better convey it) is to ensure that you are a sort-of peacekeeper. Enemies have trouble attacking you, but you also cannot be harmful to them.

\$\endgroup\$
-4
\$\begingroup\$

Web doesn’t affect Sanctuary

If the warded creature makes an attack or casts a spell that affects an enemy creature, this spell ends.

Casting a Web spell does not affect anyone. Creatures are affected subsequently by the webs it creates but that is not the warded creature casting a spell

\$\endgroup\$

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.