7
\$\begingroup\$

I don't talk of Wizards which clearly have an exception with their spell book to preparation and casting of rituals. In my specific situation I ask about a Cleric or Warlock with the Ritual Caster feat casting a ritual.

Would a Cleric or Warlock with no spell slots left for the day but originally prepared the ritual spell still be able to cast it as a ritual despite lacking spell slots for it?

\$\endgroup\$
  • \$\begingroup\$ I have removed the question about the preparation of ritual spells as part of that question has already been answered here and we have a one question one answer policy here. If you still wish that question answered, please do so in a new question. \$\endgroup\$ – Rubiksmoose Apr 15 '18 at 20:19
13
\$\begingroup\$

Ritual casting does not require spell slots

The ritual version of a spell takes 10 minutes longer to cast than normal. It also doesn’t expend a spell slot.

Clearly you don't need to use a slot to cast a ritual spell, and thus there is no reason you would need to have one available. To cast a ritual spell you simply cast it using the ritual casting rules. No slots needed.

Requiring such a thing would completely undercut the usefulness of ritual spells since using slots is what casting as a ritual is intended to avoid.

\$\endgroup\$
5
\$\begingroup\$

No

The section on rituals in the Player's Handbook states:

The ritual version of a spell takes 10 minutes longer to cast than normal. It also doesn’t expend a spell slot

No matter what source your ritual spells come from, you don't need a spell slot to cast them as long as you have a feature to cast rituals with.

\$\endgroup\$

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.