9
\$\begingroup\$

Assuming you're within range of a golem can you cast passwall on it to kill/destroy it?

\$\endgroup\$
10
\$\begingroup\$

Passwall doesn't do damage. I can see an argument whereby you might be able to open a hole through an especially large golem or colossus, if it were large enough to be perceived as a "wall", but this wouldn't actually harm the golem, just change its shape temporarily.

I can see some possible creative uses for this effect. For example, you could order a golem to plant itself between you and an opposing party, open a hole to shoot arrows or spells at your opponents, then close it again to gain cover. But in terms of actually destroying the golem, I don't think it would work.

\$\endgroup\$
  • \$\begingroup\$ I would agree it wouldn't do damge. If you did a passwall, as you stated, through a large golem's head and the body falls/moves I'd say when the spells ends the head would fall in the area in which the spell was cast. Although a golem isn't alive so it can't die I'd say losing your head makes it so you can't have senses to act upon and a golem isn't usually very smart so it should either fall or just stand there without a head. \$\endgroup\$ – NationWidePants Apr 19 '18 at 11:43
26
\$\begingroup\$

You create a passage through wooden, plaster, or stone walls,

(emphasis mine)

A golem is not a wall, no matter what it is made of, and therefore passwall does nothing to it.

\$\endgroup\$
  • 8
    \$\begingroup\$ As DM, I would make exception if golem would actually be made of walls, but that golem is from another game so we would be in houserule territory anyway. \$\endgroup\$ – Mołot Apr 16 '18 at 14:15
  • 23
    \$\begingroup\$ @NationWidePants I absolutely refuse to get into that debate; I consider it spurious and a waste of everyone’s time. If you want to edit your question to focus on it, I will leave my answer as it is, downvote your question as “not useful,” and vote to close it as off-topic since it would be a philosophical semantic argument about the definition of an English word, not a question about game rules. \$\endgroup\$ – KRyan Apr 16 '18 at 14:23
  • 15
    \$\begingroup\$ @NationWidePants I gotta agree with KRyan here. Seriously, if you're going to go there, why bother with a passwall spell? If that golem is impeding your further progress, just render the golem moot by casting on yourself the spell freedom of movement. \$\endgroup\$ – Hey I Can Chan Apr 16 '18 at 14:28
  • 13
    \$\begingroup\$ A C++ golem compiled with -Wall would also qualify. \$\endgroup\$ – Yakk Apr 16 '18 at 18:18
  • 11
    \$\begingroup\$ @Yakk Were a C++ golem complied in such a way, doesn't that mean somebody already passed -Wall to it? \$\endgroup\$ – T.J.L. Apr 16 '18 at 18:57

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.