Assume there is such amulet existing in the world:

  • Wearer Wizard can cast 2 extra lvl 10 spells every day
  • Wearer Wizard can cast 1 extra lvl 11 spell every day
  • If you find spells of such level you could use them with such slots (I.E. Quest spells)
  • If you don't find such spells you can anyway put metamagic spells inside that slots.

Am I allowed by 3.5 rules to have metamagic spells at those levels? (I.E. Am I Allowed to "Extend Time Stop" and put it on one of those slots?)

  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ This seems like multiple questions. One about if you are allowed to do certain things and one about whether it's balanced to create a certain magic item. I recommended asking them separately. \$\endgroup\$ – David Coffron Apr 16 '18 at 22:03
  • \$\begingroup\$ I've removed the second question about the sword; you should ask that separately. \$\endgroup\$ – doppelgreener Apr 16 '18 at 22:09
  • \$\begingroup\$ Ok I'm fine with that ^^. I'm mostly interested in the metamagic part anyway :). \$\endgroup\$ – CoffeDeveloper Apr 16 '18 at 22:15

A 9th-level or lower spell modified by metamagic feats can be prepared in or cast using a 10th-level or higher spell slot of the appropriate level. Getting such higher-than-9th-level slots is the whole point of the epic feat Improved Spell Capacity (Dungeon Master's Guide 210), after all.

However, there are no published 10th-level or higher spells; those slots above 9th are exclusively for spells modified by metamagic. Further, as it sort of provides the benefits of three epic feats, I'd expect such an amulet to have a very high price!


Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.