So, a Mimic can mimic inanimate objects through it's Shapechanger trait:

The mimic can use its action to polymorph into an object or back into its true, amorphous form. Its statistics are the same in each form. Any equipment it is wearing or carrying isn 't transformed. It reverts to its true form if it dies.

This means that it can't polymorph into creatures, however, a Simulacrum is not a creature, it is an illusion/duplicate.

Has there ever been a final ruling on this?

  • \$\begingroup\$ If you don't mind my asking, what makes you believe that an illusion is an object? If I saw a mirage or started hallucinating, (when I regained coherent thought) I wouldn't consider those things to be objects - they occupy no physical space... \$\endgroup\$
    – Joshu's Mu
    Commented Apr 17, 2018 at 21:04
  • \$\begingroup\$ Related: Does True Polymorph on a Simulacrum treat it as an object or a creature? \$\endgroup\$ Commented Apr 17, 2018 at 21:12
  • \$\begingroup\$ Would that make it a... simimicrum? \$\endgroup\$
    – V2Blast
    Commented Mar 12, 2022 at 3:27

1 Answer 1


A simulacrum is a creature and thus cannot be mimicked

You say "a Simulacrum is not a creature" but that is not correct. If you look in the spell description simulacrum says:

You shape an illusory duplicate.... The duplicate is a creature, partially real and formed from ice or snow, and it can take actions and otherwise be affected as a normal creature.

The mimic's Shapechanger trait says:

The mimic can use its action to polymorph into an object...

Creatures are creatures and not objects - they are mutually exclusive.

Since the spell says the duplicate is a creature, a mimic cannot mimic it.

  • \$\begingroup\$ I believe "Polymorph" is lower case in the original quote. Roll20 just capitalizes random things \$\endgroup\$ Commented Apr 17, 2018 at 21:22
  • \$\begingroup\$ @DavidCoffron: you are correct! fixed and thanks. \$\endgroup\$ Commented Apr 17, 2018 at 21:24
  • \$\begingroup\$ Thanks.. I'm not at my best today, it seems. Can't believe I read right over that. \$\endgroup\$ Commented Apr 17, 2018 at 21:38
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ @SeraphsWrath: No worries! If you hadn't asked it, someone else eventually would have I'm sure. :) \$\endgroup\$ Commented Apr 17, 2018 at 21:39
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ @SeraphsWrath: Anything accessible for free on Roll20 is also accessible for free on D&D Beyond. (The only free 5e content on Roll20 is the stuff in the SRD, which hasn't been updated since 2015. DDB has the licenses for some freely-released official content that Roll20 doesn't share for free, such as content in the Basic Rules that isn't in the SRD, and the content in the EEPC.) \$\endgroup\$
    – V2Blast
    Commented Mar 12, 2022 at 3:31

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .