0
\$\begingroup\$

This question already has an answer here:

Follow up from Can I specify the timing "before ..." for my ready action?

When my trigger is "when the enemy moves", when does the readied action trigger, after they move 5 ft, or after finished moving to their intended location?

I'm asking because I might want to use a pike to deliver the spell. If it triggers after the target move 5 ft, then I can still attack them and complete the spell. If it waits until the target completes their movement, then they might have leave the 10 ft reach of pike, and thus waste my spell.

\$\endgroup\$

marked as duplicate by Szega dnd-5e Apr 18 '18 at 8:52

This question has been asked before and already has an answer. If those answers do not fully address your question, please ask a new question.

  • \$\begingroup\$ BTW, what allows you to deliver a spell through a weapon? \$\endgroup\$ – Szega Apr 18 '18 at 8:56
  • \$\begingroup\$ Oh, the Booming Blade cantrip. \$\endgroup\$ – Vylix Apr 18 '18 at 8:59
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ That has a range of 5 ft, so you cannot benefit from reach weapons. \$\endgroup\$ – Szega Apr 18 '18 at 9:20
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ They also need to stay a valid target for it go off. \$\endgroup\$ – Szega Apr 18 '18 at 9:23
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ @gul I did not say that this cannot work ever, with any kind of movement. I was just clarifying something for Vylix based on his last paragraph. \$\endgroup\$ – Szega Apr 18 '18 at 9:52