0
\$\begingroup\$

I’m starting to play as Hexblade warlock and I have some kind of a brain lag. Can I wield a sword and cast spells with my free hand? Since my sword can be a spellcasting focus and I can perform somatic components with my free hand?

\$\endgroup\$
2

1 Answer 1

12
\$\begingroup\$

Yes and you don't even need the free hand if the spell requires both material and somatic components

From Somatic components

Spellcasting gestures might include a forceful gesticulation or an intricate set of gestures. If a spell requires a somatic component, the caster must have free use of at least one hand to perform these gestures.

From Material components

A spellcaster must have a hand free to access a spell’s material components — or to hold a spellcasting focus — but it can be the same hand that he or she uses to perform somatic components.

(all emphasis mine)

\$\endgroup\$

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .